Mommy Lesson 2) Trusting Yourself


It’s not only children who grow. Parents do too. As much as we watch to see what our children do with their lives, they are watching us to see what we do with ours. I can’t tell my children to reach for the sun. All I can do is reach for it, myself. ~Joyce Maynard

So, how many parents have woken up in a sweat over a nightmare? No, not a nightmare involving zombies, witches, or rogue mangy black birds but one of failing. Failing to keep our little ones safe, fearing to watch them tumble down steps or out of our arms, and failing to comfort a cry or keep them safe from those zombies or birds or the badguy robberman? It can be paralyzing in it’s own right!

There were times when I felt depressed because I thought I couldn’t be the mother I wanted to be for my son. I spun negative images of me dropping him or of him crying because all I could do is stare at him. But, much like learning how to trust myself when doing a chair transfer without a slide board for the first time, I had to trust myself that I would be a good mom. I could still be there for my son and he would still meet his developmental milestones, even if I couldn’t do everything an “able-bodied” mother could.

Being there for my son has become the most important developmental tool in my belt. Paying attention to the things he needs and showing him my love with doing as much as I could do tells him that he is special. Even if it’s simple, like letting him ride on my lap, acting goofy to make him laugh, or playing peek-a-boo through the slats on his crib, as long as I am there for him, I cannot fail! Like the saying goes, in life it’s the little things that matter most.

Next week: Mommy Lesson 3) Be honest!

Leave a Reply

